Incumbents re-elected to Tribal council - Coeur d'Alene Press: Local News

Incumbents re-elected to Tribal council

Allan remains chairman of 7-member panel

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, May 7, 2013 12:00 am | Updated: 12:38 am, Tue May 7, 2013.

WORLEY - Coeur d'Alene tribal members re-elected two incumbent candidates to fill positions on the Coeur d'Alene Tribal Council.

Voting over the weekend result in Alfred Nomee's re-election to a second three-year term. Nomee is the Director of Natural Resources for the Coeur d'Alene Tribe and currently serves as the 2nd Vice Chair for the Affiliated Tribes of the Northwest Indians.

In Monday morning's swearing-in ceremony at the Rose Creek Longhouse in Worley, Nomee reminded tribal members of the importance of voting and humbly thanked tribal members for the opportunity to serve another term.

"Your votes have made a difference in how the Coeur d'Alene Tribal Council will govern and operate," he said.

Charlotte Nilson was also re-elected to her third consecutive term on Tribal Council. In her remarks Nilson thanked everyone for their confidence and trust. She said that it has been an honor to give back to the community and serve the Tribe and that she is looking forward to the next three years.

As part of the swearing-in ceremony, the Tribal Council met to conduct the annual selection of executive officers. The seven-member council unanimously re-elected Chief J. Allan to another year as the chairman of the Tribe, a position he has held since 2005.

"It is a privilege to serve as chairman and I'm honored to continue to work on behalf of my people and to represent the sovereign Coeur d'Alene Tribe," said Allan. "I am the luckiest guy in the world."

Ernie Stensgar will retain the position of vice chairman of the Tribal Council and John Abraham will continue to serve as the Tribal Council's secretary.

The seven seats on the Coeur d'Alene Tribal Council are staggered, with each councilmember serving a three year term. In this year's election, eight individuals ran for the two open positions. The candidates who receive the highest number of votes are elected to Tribal Council. On the Monday following each year's election, the newly organized council votes to select a chairman, vice chairman and secretary/treasurer to serve one year terms.

More about

More about

More about

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Not you?||
Logout|My Dashboard